Engaging Disability Training

Engaging Disability With The Gospel offers free, live, foundational training to help churches offer sustainable, impactful, gospel-centered supports to families who are impacted by disability, especially during this COVID-19 time. 

SECOND WIND FOR THE SECOND HALF: HOW QUARANTINE CAN ENERGIZE US TO PROMOTE FLOURISHING IN THE LIVES OF ADULTS WITH INTELLECTUAL DISABILITIES 

Tuesday, August 4, 2020 

8 pm ET   7 pm CT    6 pm MT    5 pm PT 

Doors open 10 minutes early. 

Teacher: Stephanie O. Hubach 

Whether you joined us for Part 1 on May 7 or are new to the conversation, we would love to have you join us for Part 2 of this online training. We are approaching the end of the “100 Day Challenge” where Steph Hubach encouraged participants to develop certain goals for their children who have disabilities. She gave four areas to set goals in: 1) Access to relationships, 2) Agency in life, 3) Meaningful work, and 4) Freedom of movement. 

In Part 2, we will discuss what participants experienced in the past 3 months to promote flourishing in the lives of their loved ones with disabilities. We will: 

  • Revisit the four goal areas 
  • Review some goals that participants made 
  • Share the results of working towards those goals 
  • Share practical ideas with one another 

REGISTER


DISABILITY MINISTRY TOOLBOX: RESOURCES TO SUPPORT RHYTHMS, ROUTINES, AND SOCIAL SKILLS 

Thursday, August 13, 2020 

8 pm ET   7 pm CT    6 pm MT    5 pm PT 

Doors open 10 minutes early. 

Teacher: Kristen Harnly, Associate Director of Congregational Ministry 

With COVID-19, many families impacted by disability have found it exceptionally challenging to build daily routines and habits that facilitate growth for their families. As we look toward the fall, we want to share our favorite resources and adapted materials for building rhythms and routines to help your children and teens grow and thrive. We will focus on developing predictable daily patterns that help buoy families amidst the many changing aspects of each week. 
 
We will also share our favorite resources for nudging your children forward in developing their social skills. Most have not had opportunities to practice social skills since the onset of COVID-19. But that does not mean skill regression has to be a new normal for your family. Our tips and favorite resources for developing social skills will help kids reconnect with others and make re-entry at church easier. 

REGISTER

Updated on August 3, 2020

Was this article helpful?

Need Help?
Can’t find the answer you’re looking for?
Contact MNA